Politics, Breaking News

Maharashtra: Trouble for Uddhav Thackeray government as minister Eknath Shinde and 11 MLAs out of touch

Mumbai: In what could be termed as a setback for for Shiv Sena and Uddhav Thackeray government in Maharashtra, 11 MLAs of Shiv Sena, including Urban Development Minister Eknath Shinde are reportedly out of touch of the government. The development comes a day after the Maharashtra Legislative Assembly elections, in which the BJP won the fifth seat in a major blow to the ruling Shiv Sena-NCP-Congress alliance. It is being said that Shinde and other MLAs are staying in a 5-star hotel in Surat.

After suspicious cross-voting in the MLC elections, CM Uddhav Thackeray has called an immediate meeting of all the MLAs of Shiv Sena at 12 noon today. All the MLAs have been strictly asked to be present in the meeting. MVA constituent Congress candidate Chandrakant Handore was defeated in the MLC election. BJP leader Mohit Kamboj has claimed that 3 MLAs of the party have done ‘cross voting’. According to a viral WhatsApp chat, BJP’s Mumbai unit functionary Kamboj said, “We got 134 votes, while one vote wasted.” 3 BJP MLAs have done cross voting. 3 MLAs of Bahujan Vikas Aghadi did not vote in our favour.

After the Rajya Sabha elections on June 10, the MLC election was another shocking development for the Maharashtra Vikas Aghadi alliance in the state. Because the main opposition BJP, defeating Congress’s first preference candidate Chandrakant Handore, succeeded in getting its additional candidate to the Legislative Council. Let us tell you that in the Rajya Sabha elections too, the BJP had ensured the victory of its third candidate Dhananjay Mahadik, surprising the Maha Vikas Aghadi alliance. Shiv Sena’s Sanjay Pawar had to face defeat. NCP chief Sharad Pawar had termed it the charisma of Devendra Fadnavis.

Is the Uddhav Thackeray-led Maha Vikas Aghadi government in danger?

In the Maharashtra Legislative Council elections held on June 20, all five BJP candidates were elected despite the lack of numbers, while the MVA also got five seats. The main contest for the 10th seat was between Congress’s Bhai Jagtap and BJP’s Prasad Lad. Both won, while the first choice of Congress, Chandrakant Handore, suffered an unexpected defeat in this election contest of 11 candidates vying for 10 seats. According to sources, BJP has got 20 extra votes in the MLC elections. If 20 MLAs who supported the Legislative Council elections go to the BJP camp, then it will definitely need the support of less than 11 MLAs to remove the Uddhav Thackeray government from power. Therefore, Eknath Shinde’s departure to Surat with 11 MLAs is a cause of concern for the Shiv Sena, NCP and Congress alliance.

Also read: Yogi government takes another step towards making youth self-reliant, TCP cell to be formed for better placement of ITI students

The winning quota in the MLC election was 26 votes per candidate, and 29 MLAs’ votes from smaller parties or independents were important for both sides. In the 288-member Maharashtra Assembly, 1 Shiv Sena MLA Ramesh Latke passed away recently, while 2 NCP MLAs Anil Deshmukh and Nawab Malik, who are currently in jail, were denied permission to vote by the Bombay High Court and the Supreme Court. Gave. MVA candidates Sachin Ahir and Amasha Padvi (Shiv Sena), Ramraje Naik-Nimbalkar and Eknath Khadse (Nationalist Congress Party) and Bhai Jagtap (Congress) won the MLC elections. All BJP candidates- Pravin Darekar, Ram Shinde, Shrikant Bhartiya, Uma Khapre and Prasad Lad won.

Saffron party won on money and Enforcement Directorate: Supriya Sule

The main opposition BJP had less numbers, yet all its candidates were successful in winning. Former CM and BJP leader Devendra Fadnavis said that the results indicate unrest among the ruling MLAs against the MVA government. The NCP has accused the BJP of horse-trading and indulging in secret pacts in the MLC elections, which led to the defeat of Congress’ Chandrakant Handore. The Congress said that no one can be blamed if its MLAs did not vote for Handore. NCP leader Supriya Sule targeted the BJP and said that the saffron party won on the basis of money and the Enforcement Directorate.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *